

Breviate of the Meeting of the Protocol Committee held on 22nd March 2018

In accordance with Standing Orders of the City Council, the Breviate of the Meeting of the Protocol Committee held on 22nd March 2018 is submitted herewith.

- 1) Lord Mayor Receptions and Engagements of the Deputy Lord Mayor Order: Noted and Recommended to Council
- 2) Draft Flag Flying Policy

Cllr. Anne Feeney briefed the Members on the work carried out by the Flags Working Group and the processes that they went through in agreeing the policy. It was acknowledged that although Members had differing views on certain issues the policy represented a compromise that they all were prepared to endorse. The Chair and Members thanked Cllr. Feeney for her efforts as Chair of the Working Group. **Order: Agreed and Recommended to Council**

3) Portrait of Richard O'Carroll

The Manager informed Members that the family of Richard O'Carroll wished to commission a portrait of him which would be hung in the Richard O'Carroll Room. Order: Agreed. The Manager to liaise with the City Archivist, Dr. Mary Clarke and the City Arts Officer, Ray Yeates to advise on criteria with regards the quality, size and frame for the portrait.

- Request for the Lord Mayor to be Patron of the Gregor McGuckin Golden Globe Race 2019
 Order: Agreement was given in principle but was dependent on due diligence being carried out and information regarding sponsorship requirements.
- Motion in the name of Councillor Teresa Keegan advocating the use of biodegradable items by the City Council.
 Order: Motion as amended agreed and recommend to Council.
- Motion in the name of the North West Area Committee regarding the circulation of Strategic Housing Development planning applications.
 Order: Agreed and recommend to Council

<u>Councillor Deirdre Heney</u> Chairperson Thursday 22 March 2018

Attendance:

Members:

Deirdre Heney (Chairperson) Aine Clancy Teresa Keegan Michael Mullooly

Officers

Michael Gallagher

<u>Members:</u>

Patrick Costello Dermot Lacey Naoise O'Muiri

Owen P. Keegan

Members:

Anne Feeney Ray McHugh Ciaran O'Moore

Deirdre Ni Raghallaigh